Apr 08 24

The World Conservation Union, or International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN), Red List of Threatened Species is the world’s most comprehensive inventory of the global conservation status of plant and animal species.

The IUCN is the world’s main authority on the conservation status of species.

Species are classified in to nine categories – which are set through criteria such as rate of decline, population size, area of geographic distribution, and degree of population and distribution fragmentation.


The categories are…

  • Extinct (EX)
  • Extinct in the Wild (EW)

The term Threatened is a grouping of the three categories…

  • Critically Endangered (CR)
  • Endangered (EN)
  • Vulnerable (VU)

Lower risk categories (which used to [1994] also include a Conservation Dependant (CD) category) are…

  • Near Threatened (NT)
  • Least Concern (LC)

And these additional categories for species not yet categorised…

  • Data Deficient (DD)
  • Not Evaluated (NE)
Thanks to next door’s “pet” cats, I’ve found yet another robin half eaten in my garden under the hedge… :angry: Where do Dogs, Cats, Mice and Birds come on this list? :???:


Start slideshow with these images

5 Responses to “World Conservation Union Red List”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

;-) :| :zzz: :zip: :yum: :x :twisted: :star: :smile: :shock: :sarcy: :sad: :roll: :razz: :oops: :o :mrgreen: :love: :lol: :idea: :grin: :good: :geek: :freeze: :evil: :cry: :cool: :clap: :arrow: :angry: :alien: :???: :?: :!: